Profile picture for user nivas4310

Hi All,

I have read the topic about "Versioning" in ARIS help topics. Can anyone explain me more about the use of creating versions?

How can we make the versionable model to the default one?

I would like to change a model and make that as a default one. In that case how I can do that? whenever I tried to create a version of a model it is changing into Read mode, and I am unable to do any changes.

Is their any documents available for versioning apart from help topics in ARIS?

Best Regards,

Srinivas.

 

by Srinivas CH Author
Posted on Thu, 04/25/2013 - 07:59

Hi Rune,

Thanks for your reply.

However I didnt find answers to my questions in that articles, Can you please answer the below questions?

1. Whenever I created a version, the newly created version is in read mode. Then what is the use of creating a version? In other BPM tools I can see the revision functionality, and If I create a revision the new one will be in write mode and the old one will be in read mode. And we have an option "set to default" to move to the older revision if I want to go back to the older versions.

2. Does the DB will have any performance issue whenever we create a version? Because I can see now the size of the DB is double in my case. I am using ABA 7.2 now.

3. What is the "Versioning State"? I can see 3 options while login to database like "Workspace", "Current Version" and "Change List" in versioning state, If I choose Workspace then the DB is in write mode, for other two again it is in read mode, then what is the use of those two options?

4. Let us assume that I need to change an as-is EPC and wants to add some functions to that, and make the newly EPC to be available in DB in write mode. How can we implement Version concept here?

Waiting for your answers :) :)

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards,

Srinivas.

0
by Ishwar Biradar
Posted on Thu, 04/25/2013 - 08:18

Dear Srinivas,

Whenever you will have to work in DB you should login by option "workspace" which will have current version of models. And you can see your old version model in the explore tree and u can edit/change existing model.

Hope it will help you.

Thanks & regards,

Ishwar Briadar

0
by Srinivas CH Author
Posted on Mon, 04/29/2013 - 08:09

Hi Ishwar,

Thanks for your reply,

If I want to revert back to my previous revision, will it be possible? For example from revision 3 EPC to revision 2 EPC.

Thanks & Best Regards,

Srinivas.

0
by Robert Stowman
Posted on Wed, 05/01/2013 - 21:35

Hi Srinivas,

You can revert back to older model versions by restoring a db that contains the older model version (Revision 2 EPC, in your example). Then, Revision 2 EPC can be merged into your current db environment from the db you restored.

To your questions above:

1. When you create a new version, a read only image is created. However, you would still be able to edit the actual model itself. So, when the version is first created, the model itself and the read only image are exactly the same. (One in Read mode, one in Write mode.) Then, you would update the model a second time and then, create a susequent version.

2. The db does get larger but performance I guess depends on your ARIS environment setup.

3. Workspace is the current state (or "live") db. In other words, editable.

    Whenever you look at previous "versions" of the db it's read only. So basically, "work" is only possible in the "Workspace."

Current Version is basically your Workspace in Read Only mode. (It's considered a "previous version" becuase it's not the Workspace.)

Change List allows you to look at a specific version of a model(s). The versions of models are actually controlled via Change Lists. (So, you may be versioning a model for the first time and the system prompts with "Creating verion 12." It really means Change List 12.) Please see the attachment.

4. See answer to question #1.

Hope this helps some!

Best Regards,

Bob/system/files/editor/files/ARIS Version Control.ppt

0
by Robert Stowman
Posted on Wed, 05/01/2013 - 21:42

sorry, retrying attachment...

0
by Srinivas CH Author
Posted on Thu, 05/02/2013 - 07:18

Hi Robert,

Thanks a lot for your answers, Now I got some knowledge on Versioning.

One more question, you mentioned in previous comment that to revert back to previous version we have to restore the db which consists of that version, You mean whole DB? If that is the case can you please answer to my question below?

Consider example as in your PPT above, Currently my workspace is in change list #3, and I would like to revert only model B to version 1, If I restore my DB to change list #2 to make model B as version 1, rest other models A,C,D,E will also change there versions right?

How we will get the backup of the DB as per versions?

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards,

Srinivas.

0
by Robert Stowman
Posted on Thu, 05/02/2013 - 14:40

Hi Srinivas,

Yes. For what you're trying to do though, I would restore the Chagelist #2 database (making Model B, version 1 active again). You then merge Model B, version 1 into your current (Workspace) database. Model B, version 2 could be overwritten during the merge, for example.

 

Best Regards,

Bob

0
by Srinivas CH Author
Posted on Mon, 05/06/2013 - 06:36

Hi Robert,

Thank you so much, Learnt some stuff on versioning from you.

One last question, I can see in explorer window on variants tab, different change lists of a model. For comparision of models I found only two options, "Workspace" and "Previous Version". Assume in my case I have 7 change lists for a model, and change list #7 is the current workspace. Suppose if I want to compare change list #5 with changelist #3, Is it possible to do?

If yes, please let me know how?

Many thanks in advance.

Best Regards,

Srinivas.

0
by Frank Weyand
Posted on Mon, 05/06/2013 - 13:35

Hello Srinivas,

this is easy: just select the versions you want to compare, and right click to get the context menu:

Bye,

Frank

0
by Srinivas CH Author
Posted on Mon, 05/06/2013 - 14:29

Hi Frank,

Thank you so much :) :). Its working...

Have a great day.

BR/Srinivas.

0
by Raquel V
Posted on Mon, 02/17/2014 - 15:37

Hello all:

In Aris Architect 9.5, when I try to safeguard a database (export a database as an ".adb") the tool does not give the option to choose the list of changes (baseline) previously created to import it in another database.

Previously, in Aris Architect 7.2, when I do a safeguard of a database to export it on a file ".adb", I can chose a list of changes to import in another database.

How can do this action with Aris Architect 9.5?

Thank you very much.

Greetings.

 

 

 

0
by Thierry Caro
Posted on Wed, 03/09/2016 - 11:36

Hello  With ABA 9.7, I see a choice selection for backup the versionable database Workspace, Current Version or Change List number.

Brgds, Thierry

0

Featured achievement

Rookie
Say hello to the ARIS Community! Personalize your community experience by following forums or tags, liking a post or uploading a profile picture.
Recent Unlocks

Leaderboard

|
There is still some space in this week's top 5 for you - this is your chance to become one of our top members of this week. Register now to start collecting points!
icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-cerulean-left icon-arrow-cerulean-right icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-arrow icon-back icon-close icon-comments icon-correct-answer icon-tick icon-download icon-facebook icon-flag icon-google-plus icon-hamburger icon-in icon-info icon-instagram icon-login-true icon-login icon-mail-notification icon-mail icon-mortarboard icon-newsletter icon-notification icon-pinterest icon-plus icon-rss icon-search icon-share icon-shield icon-snapchat icon-star icon-tutorials icon-twitter icon-universities icon-videos icon-views icon-whatsapp icon-xing icon-youtube icon-jobs icon-heart icon-heart2 aris-express bpm-glossary help-intro help-design Process_Mining_Icon help-publishing help-administration help-dashboarding help-archive help-risk icon-knowledge icon-question icon-events icon-message icon-more icon-pencil forum-icon