Dear Team,

1. what is meant by level-0, level-1, level-2, level-3, level-4, level-5 diagrams of business and technical process in ARIS?

2. is there any resource where in we can check how to draw these levels?

3. can we draw these levels using ARIS Elements? if no, please suggest the version.

Kindly advice.

thanks in advance.



by M. Zschuckelt
Posted on Tue, 03/09/2021 - 18:00


yes, you can draw value chains and process models in Elements. The definition of the "levels" is up to you. The higher levels serve basically as a structured table of contents for your actual business processes and help organizations to appoint "Process owners" for certain "Process areas" (again, definition is up to you).

Here you find a few tutorials of what you can do with Elements:

There should be something answering your questions.

Best regards.


by M. Zschuckelt
Posted on Tue, 03/09/2021 - 18:25

The numbering of levels is not standardized. Every customer does it as they like, counting from the bottom or the top. You have to find your criteria, what granularity of abstraction you want to see on each level. There is one recommendation I give all customers for their basic level of process modelling - the ground floor. If you like, you might call it level 0, if you want to count bottom--up:

  • One time
  • One place
  • One person

So everything one person does for a single process at a certain point in the process (logical process time) without moving significantly ("do this here, next step somewhere else") is considered a single step. You model these steps in EPC or BPMN notation, whichever you prefer. So at the latest when the responsibility for performing moves from one role to the next you have a new step.

If you are doing anything more granular, you are actually modelling "work instructions". This would be level -1. Avoid modelling decision trees as a process. There are other notations more suitable for that. For a process description the result of a decision is sufficient.

Posted on Wed, 03/10/2021 - 10:21

Dear M. Zschuckelt,

thank you so much for your response.


Featured achievement

You blog more than you breathe, and your articles stand out: Create 20 more articles, receive very good feedback and stimulate conversations
Recent Unlocks


Weekly | All-time
icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-cerulean-left icon-arrow-cerulean-right icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-arrow icon-back icon-close icon-comments icon-correct-answer icon-tick icon-download icon-facebook icon-flag icon-google-plus icon-hamburger icon-in icon-info icon-instagram icon-login-true icon-login icon-mail-notification icon-mail icon-mortarboard icon-newsletter icon-notification icon-pinterest icon-plus icon-rss icon-search icon-share icon-shield icon-snapchat icon-star icon-tutorials icon-twitter icon-universities icon-videos icon-views icon-whatsapp icon-xing icon-youtube icon-jobs icon-heart icon-heart2 aris-express bpm-glossary help-intro help-design Process_Mining_Icon help-publishing help-administration help-dashboarding help-archive help-risk icon-knowledge icon-question icon-events icon-message icon-more icon-pencil forum-icon